Griffin University win Round 2

Credit: RugbyAU Media/Karen Watson

Griffin University win Round 2

Griffith University has won the second round of the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series, defeating the University of Queensland 21-7 in the final at Bond University on the Gold Coast.

The 2018 Series winners (Griffith) scored three tries to the 2017 Series winners (UQ) one, making it one of the competitions most competitive finals.

The University of Canberra took out the bronze medal final in the second leg of the series after defeating the University of Sydney 12-10. The result seeing the side place for the first time in the competitions three-year history.

Hosts, Bond University, have also sought redemption following their round one result finishing in sixth after going down to the University of Adelaide 26-14.

In other matches, the University of Melbourne won their final game of the day against the University of New England while UTS defeated the University of Western Australia in the seventh-place playoff.

Griffith University Head Coach, Moana Virtue said: “That win meant more to the side than all the wins we had in the 2018 competition.

“This round of the series has been the most competitive we’ve ever seen.

“We had a lot of new girls in the side, and I’m proud of the way in which they dug deep and the effort that they put in; we won this tournament as a team.

“It's important that we take this time to enjoy the win before we reassess at training on Tuesday and look towards round three.”

2019 Aon University Sevens Series Ladder
1. University of Queensland, 38 points
2. Griffith University, 34 points
3. Sydney University, 30 points
4. University of Technology Sydney, 26 points
5. University of Adelaide, 24 points
6. University of Canberra, 24 points
7. Bond University, 14 points
8. University of Melbourne, 14 points
9. University of New England, 8 points
10. University of Western Australia, 8 points