New Zealand World University Squad

On 7 December 2020 it was confirmed that due to COVID-19, Rowing NZ did not intend to send athletes to compete at international regattas throughout 2021, excluding the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta and the Tokyo Olympic Games. However, it is still the intention of Rowing NZ to select and support age group squads irrespective of international travel throughout 2021.

A World University squad has been selected and will train together over the course of the winter and race at the Development Regatta from 21 - 28 August 2021 at Lake Karapiro. The Universiade, scheduled to take place in Chengdu, China from 18 - 29 August 2021, has been postponed to 2022 as a result of the impacts of COVID-19. The team announced today will operate as a training squad to aid the development of the athletes selected, but new selections will take place in 2022 to select a team to compete at the postponed event.

Rowing NZ encourages any athletes not selected to the World University squad to continue rowing throughout the winter. The new National Pathway aims to offer support to athletes in their home clubs, schools and universities and athletes are able to gain selection onto the pathway through the winter regional programmes


Catherine Layburn, Auckland University

Sophie Egnot-Johnson, Massey University


Ben Mason, University of Otago

George Howat, University of Canterbury

Jostien Leota-Butler, University of Canterbury

Matthew White, Lincoln University

Murphy Water, University of Canterbury

Will Gilbert, Lincoln University


Anna DeLong - Women’s Coach

Malcolm McIntyre - Men’s Coach

Women's Sculling

Eva Hofmans, Dunstan Arm Rowing Club / Yale University

Alice Fahey, Star Boating Club / Southern Methodist University

Phoebe Collier, Whanganui Collegiate Rowing Club

Polly Wenlock, Porirua Rowing Club / University of California, Los Angeles

Women's Sweep

Shakira Mirfin, Invercargill Rowing Club / University of Waikato

Isobel Eliadis-Watson, Waikato Rowing Club / University of Waikato

Lucy Burrell, West End Rowing Club / Stanford University

Olivia Hay, North Shore Rowing Club / University of California, Los Angeles

Men's Sculling

Finn Hamill, Waikato Rowing Club

Kobe Miller, Wairau Rowing Club / University of Otago

Evan Williams, Waikato Rowing Club / University of Waikato

Logan Docherty, Wairau Rowing Club

Men's Sweep

Joshua Gordon, Waikato Rowing Club / Harvard University

Joshua Vodanovich, Waikato Rowing Club

Bowen de Gouw, North Shore Rowing Club / Boston University

Samuel Shotter, North Shore Rowing Club / Auckland University


Timothy Heritage, Avon Rowing Club

Harry Molloy, West End Rowing Club / University of Otago


Max Cossill, Waikato Rowing Club / University of Waikato


Hannah Starnes - Lead Coach - Women’s sweep coach

Fiona Bourke - Women’s sculling coach

Bryce Abernethy - Men’s sculling coach

Guy Williams - Men’s sweep coach

Women’s Eight

Arlia O'Sullivan, University of Canterbury

Daisy Forsythe, University of Canterbury

Greta Hawke, University of Otago

Helena Rikiti, University of Otago

Jane Shellekens, University of Canterbury

Katie Bell, University of Canterbury

Phoebe Trolove, University of Otago

Sally Wylaars, University of Otago

Julia Coppens (coxswain), University of Otago

Men’s Eight

Jack Chapman, University of Otago

Jack MacDonald, University of Auckland

James Glover, University of Otago

Oliver Fahey, University of Otago

Thomas Duffett, University of Auckland

Tom Fraser, University of Otago

Will Johnston, University of Canterbury

Zack Rumble, University of Canterbury

Phoebe Barratt (coxswain), University of Otago


Kirsty Dunhill - Women’s coach

Megan Glenn - Men’s coach