New Zealand announce 2022 World Rowing Team

Credit: Rowing New Zealand

New Zealand announce 2022 World Rowing Team

The 2022 Rowing NZ Elite team contesting the World Rowing Championships 18-25 September in Racice, Czech Republic has today been named.

The World Rowing Championships were last held in 2019, with Coivd-19 causing the cancellation of 2020 (Slovenia) and 2021 (China). Up to 50 nations are expected to compete in 2022.

The team of 28 athletes, 5 coaches and 7 support staff will depart for Racice on the 3rd of September

Rowing New Zealand’s main international competitions are the Olympic Games (held every 4 years with the next Olympic Games held in Paris, 2024) and the annual World Rowing Championships. The World Championships is very much the ‘best of the best’ with each country limited to one entry per event.

The New Zealand team has 16 athletes returning from the outstanding success of the Tokyo Olympic Team with 9 athletes to experience their first World Rowing Championships at Senior level.

Tokyo Olympic Champion Emma Twigg will compete in the Women’s Single, with the World Championships being Emma’s first international row since Tokyo having been ill during the World Cup regattas.

Coached by Mike Rodger, the Tokyo Olympic Champions Grace Prendergast and Kerri Williams (nee Gowler) will compete in the women’s pair. Grace and Kerri had a close win leading into the World Championships at the third World Cup Regatta in Lucerne and they are looking to build on that result in Racice.

New combinations have been selected in the Lightweight Women’s Double (Jackie Kiddle and Rachael Kennedy), the Women’s Four (Phoebe Spoors, Beth Ross, Davina Waddy, and Catherine Layburn), and the Women’s Quad (Stella Clayton-Greene, Kate Haines, Hannah Osborne, and Kirstyn Goodger). These crews have a blend of athletes who experienced Olympic success at Tokyo in other boats and new athletes looking to make the most of this opportunity.

The Women crews are supported by travelling reserves (Jackie Gowler, Sarah Wootton, and Charlotte Spence) and will be coached by Mike Rodger, James Coote, and Matt Cameron.

Four crews have been selected to compete in Men’s events.

Following his Olympic debut in Tokyo, Jordan Parry is returning to international competition in the men’s single.

Tom Mackintosh and Matt MacDonald were members of the Olympic gold medal winning Men’s 8 crew and have formed a good combination in the men’s pair. Tom and Matt had some good results in the World Cup regatta’s earlier in the year and are looking to build on these at Racice.

A new Lightweight Men’s Double crew (Chris Stockley and Matt Dunham) will be looking to establish themselves in their first World Championships.

Jack O’Leary, Jamie Hindle-Daniels, Stephen Jones (Tokyo Olympian in Men’s Coxless Pair) and Philip Wilson (Tokyo Gold medallist in the Men’s 8) have formed a strong combination in the Men’s Quad.

The Men’s crews are supported by travelling reserves (Brook Robertson, Luca Kirwan, and Ben Taylor) and will be coached by Calvin Ferguson, and Gary Roberts.

Rowing NZ today announced the New Zealand Rowing Team to attend the World Championships, Racice, Czech Republic 18-25 September


Women’s Single

Emma Twigg, Hawkes Bay Rowing Club

Mike Rodger (coach)

Lightweight Women’s Single

Jackie Kiddle, Star Boating Club

James Coote (coach)

Women’s Pair

Kerri Williams, Aramoho-Whanganui Rowing Club

Grace Prendergast, Avon Rowing Club

Mike Rodger (coach)

Lightweight Women’s Double

Jackie Kiddle, Star Boating Club

Rachael Kennedy, Waikato Rowing Club

James Coote (coach)

Women's Four

Phoebe Spoors, Canterbury Rowing Club

Beth Ross, Petone Rowing Club

Davina Waddy, Canterbury Rowing Club

Catherine Layburn, North Shore Rowing Club

Matt Cameron (coach)

Women’s Quad

Stella Clayton-Greene, Hauraki Plains Rowing Club

Kate Haines, Waikato Rowing Club

Hannah Osborne, Te Awamutu Rowing Club

Kirstyn Goodger, Wairau Rowing Club

James Coote (coach)


Men’s Single

Jordan Parry, Tauranga Rowing Club

Gary Roberts (coach)

Men’s Pair

Tom Mackintosh, Hawkes Bay Rowing Club

Matt MacDonald, North Shore Rowing Club

Gary Roberts (coach)

Lightweight Men’s Double

Chris Stockley, West End Rowing Club

Matthew Dunham, Cambridge Rowing Club

Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Men’s Quad

Jack O’Leary, Waikato Rowing Club

Jamie Hindle-Daniels, Wellington Rowing Club

Stephen Jones, West End Rowing Club

Phil Wilson, Petone Rowing Club

Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Travelling Reserve Men’s Sweep

Luca Kirwan, Auckland Rowing Club

Ben Taylor, Avon Rowing Club

Gary Roberts (coach)

Travelling Reserve Men’s Sculling

Brook Robertson, Nelson Rowing Club

Calvin Ferguson (coach)

Travelling Reserve Women’s Sweep

Jackie Gowler

Matt Cameron (coach)

Travelling Reserve Women’s Sculling

Sarah Wootton, Wellington Rowing Club

Charlotte Spence, Auckland Rowing Club

James Coote (coach)

Support Staff

Lisa Holton, Team Manager

Judith Hamilton, General Manager – Performance

Stuart Armstrong, Team Doctor

Isobel Freeman, Physiotherapist

Stent Card, Physiotherapist

Seah Taylor, Massage Therapist

Stephen Fenemor, Performance Science

Courtesy of Rowing New Zealand