West End Redbacks name Shield Squad

Travis Head, Daniel Worrall and Tom Cooper have been named to play Western Australia at Adelaide Oval on Friday in the return of the Marsh Sheffield Shield.

Worrall is set to play his first Shield game since March 2019 when he succumbed to a hamstring injury against WA at the WACA.

A subsequent back injury then kept the 28-year-old sidelined through the winter, before making a return through the Marsh One-Day Cup in November, and the entirety of the KFC Big Bash League with the Melbourne Stars.

Worrall is among three changes to the squad that defeated Tasmania by six wickets before the BBL break, with SA captain Travis Head to resume his post, while Tom Cooper returns after he was ruled out of the Hobart trip due to delayed concussion.

Alex Carey, Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson are unavailable for selection due to their involvement in the Qantas Tour of South Africa which begins next Friday.

The remaining four games will be played with the Dukes ball, with the West End Redbacks currently fourth on the tournament standings.

Play begins at 10:30am on Friday with the starting XI to be named at the pre-match coin toss. Entry is free.

South Australia’s 12-player squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Will Bosisto
Tom Cooper
Callum Ferguson
Henry Hunt
Joe Mennie
Harry Nielsen (wk)
Chadd Sayers
Jake Weatherald
Daniel Worrall
Nick Winter

In: Cooper, Head, Worrall
Out: Carey, Daniel Drew, Zampa

South Australia’s Toyota Second XI squad will be led by first-time captain Daniel Drew for their four-day match against Tasmania at Glenelg Oval starting Monday.

Toyota Second XI squad
Daniel Drew (c)
Tom Andrews
Josh Barrett (wk)
Brad Davis
David Grant
Sam Kerber
Conor McInerney
Tim Oakley
Ben Pengelley
Luke Robins
Alex Ross
Cameron Valente