Adelaide start undefeated

Credit: Rugby Australia/Karen Watson.

Adelaide start undefeated

The University of Adelaide have had an undefeated day one of the final round of the Aon University Sevens Series in Adelaide, as they look to win their home leg of the series.

University of Adelaide defeated Macquarie University, Melbourne University and the University of Tasmania across the day, keeping the hundreds of vocal fans happy as they cheered on the local side.

Griffith University have again emerged as the team to beat with an undefeated day one that saw them defeat the University of Queensland in a thriller to top Pool A heading into day two.

Sydney University continued their rise from over the last few rounds, by defeating Macquarie University and putting themselves in second position in Pool B with a game in hand.

Tomorrow teams will return to Graduates Oval, Adelaide for day two of the final round of the Aon University Sevens Series, with Griffith and the University of Queensland now locked in a battle to win the overall Series standings.

The Aon University Sevens Series will conclude this weekend after five rounds, with the overall standings to be confirmed with final series points on the line.

The Aon University Sevens Series Dream Team will also be announced with the seven best players across the Series confirmed.

Pool A
Griffith University, 9 points
University of New England, 8 points
University of Queensland, 7 points
Bond University, 5 points
University of Canberra, 3 points

Pool B
University of Adelaide, 9 points
University of Sydney, 9 points
Macquarie University, 8 points
University of Tasmania, 3 points
University of Melbourne 3 points